Back to Release Details

Three pioneering albums


Product Information

line up

Youn Sun Nah / vocals, kalimba, music box, kazoo

Ulf Wakenius / guitars
Lars Danielsson / bass & cello
Vincent Peirani / accordion & accordina
Xavier Desandre-Navarre / percussion

Jamie Saft / Piano, keys
Brad Jones / Acoustic Bass
Dan Rieser / Drums
Marc Ribot / Electric & Acoustic Guitars

The premium collector's edition of the three pioneering albums at a discounted price.

- She Moves On
- Lento
- Same Girl

"This woman is a vocal miracle, absolutely awesome" - ZDF heute journal (DE)
"One surprise after another, from a performer, who can turn anything into an art song." - The Times (GB)
"One of the most beautiful voices of today's jazz." - Le Figaro (FR)

She Moves On
An important step in a new musical direction, recorded in New York with an American band: pianist Jamie Saft, together with one of the most sought-after session musicians Brad Jones (bass) and Dan Rieser (drums) built the backing band for Youn Sun Nahs amazing singing. And a special guest on the guitar ensures the jazzy country and folk character of the album: Marc Ribot. In addition to her own compositions, "She Moves On" comes up with inimitable cover versions of Songs by Paul Simon, Lou Reed, Joni Mitchell and Jimi Hendrix.

Tracklisting: Traveller, Teach The Gifted Children, Too Late, She Moves On, No Other Name, The Dawntreader, Drifting, Black Is The Color Of My True Love's Hair, Fools Rush In, Evening Star

"Lento" presents Youn Sun Nah at the peak of her success. She has expanded her wide musical spectrum with a new timbre: the French accordionist Vincent Peirani joins the band alongside the established collaborations with Ulf Wakenius on guitar, Lars Danielsson on bass and percussionist Xavier Desandre-Navarre. Together, they make "pure, magical music beyond all the categories," the journal ‘Der Stern’ (DE) says.

Tracklisting: Arirang, Lento, Lament, Hurt, Empty Dream, Momento Magico, Soundless Bye, Full Circle, Ghost Riders In The Sky, Waiting, New Dawn

Same Girl
With "Same Girl" Youn Sun Nah took Europe by storm and succeeded with an international breakthrough: the Korean singer became an acclaimed jazz star. In a unique way she builds bridges between Asia and Europe and between jazz, chanson and pop in the highest technical precision but with an extreme musical freedom. An album between minimalism and exuberance, between the known and the unknown.

Tracklisting: My Favorite Things, My Name Is Carnival, Breakfast In Baghdad, Uncertain Weather, Song Of No Regret, Kangwondo Arirang, Enter Sandman, Same Girl, Moondog, Pancake, La Chanson d'Hélène